The Takahashi Era: 1985 Onward

In 1985, the Wrestling Wall of Fame was established to recognize outstanding contributions to and achievements in Western’s wrestling program. The wall of fame was made possible thanks to coaches Earl Zeigler, Mike Yuhasz and Glynn Leyshon. Located on the first floor of Thames Hall, the awards are presented every second year and include some of Western’s most prominent wrestlers including Guy Zink, Clive Llewellyn, Mike Yuhasz, Mike Barry, Bill Salter, Joe Dell’Aquila, Egon Beiler and Josip Mrkoci.

After Leyshon retired, Josip Mrkoci, Rob Moore and finally Ray Takahashi took over coaching responsibilities in 1985.

1988-89 Wrestling Team Photo

1988-89 wrestling team.

Under Takahashi's guidance, the Mustang wrestling program continues to recruit and develop highly successful wrestlers including Brian Levy, Kelvin Proctor, Jason Palleck, all Ontario University Association (OUA) champions, Terri McNutt, four-time OUA gold medalist and three-time Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) medalist, and Belinda Chou, two-time OUA champion and CIS champion. In 1990, the Mustangs won the OUA team championship and won the CIS team championships in 1990, 1991 and 1994. Many changes have occurred during Takahashi’s tenure, including the advent of the female wrestling division.

1990 OUA Wrestling Champions

1990 Ontario University Athletics wrestling champions.